Happy Herbivore 28 Day Whole Foods Challenge: The End of the Beginning

Today is the last day of the HH28 challenge! *sob* This has been such a fun, educational, formative experience, and I’m oddly sad to see the end of the challenge. It is not, however, the end of my whole foods, plant-based diet; I’ve put the ‘veg’ back in vegan, and I’m never going back! As someone who’s been vegan for over 15 years, I really didn’t expect to experience the same mind-blowing benefits as, say, someone who’s transitioned from an omnivorous diet to a plant-based lifestyle, but the positive outcomes I’ve experienced are incredible. Some of the most noticeable benefits have included:

 

* 10lbs lost in four weeks

* 3 inches lost from waist, 2 inches from chest, 2 inches from hips, 1 inch from upper thighs

* Sleeping pattern drastically improved; I’ve been going to bed and waking up at reasonable times, and I’ve only had two nightmares all month!

* Endometriosis pain and other symptoms significantly reduced, and no cyst ruptures in the second/third week of my cycle, for the first time in six months! *pain-free happy dance* I’ve also hugely reduced the amount of pain medication I take for endometriosis symptoms, and haven’t experienced any of the withdrawal symptoms usually associated with a reduction in pain medication

* Teeth much whiter and healthier

* General improvement in energy and overall attitude

*Greatly reduced food bills

 

Overall, I feel incredible. I won’t pretend that a plant-based diet is a miracle cure for every ailment, but it’s massively reduced the impact of my endometriosis and associated fatigue, and pretty much completely remedied my insomnia. In addition to the health benefits, I’ve become so much more creative in the kitchen, and on that note, I’d like to introduce you to my new boyfriend, Cheater Pad Thai:

 

dcfd29bce1b011e2984e22000a9d0de0_7

I must have eaten this dish five times in the past two weeks. I’m obsessed! I love that it’s so versatile; each time I’ve made it, I’ve used different veggies to vary the flavours, and it’s unfailingly delicious. Trust me, it’s all you’ll ever want to eat again for the rest of your life!

 

The most important thing I wanted to share is how much I’ve loved every moment of this challenge. I imagine that a lot of people think that making the transition to a plant-based diet would be the hardest thing they’d ever have to do, but I’ve found it so easy, and so enjoyable. In fact, I recently tweeted that the challenge hasn’t felt remotely challenging to me; it just feels like something I should have been doing all along! This way of eating comes so naturally to me, and with a little creative thinking, it hasn’t interfered with my routine, my time management, or my social interactions. My friends and family have commented on how great I’ve been doing this month; not just in terms of weight loss and health, but in my overall outlook, and the fact that I seem to be enjoying life so much more. I think that’s the greatest gift that the HH28 challenge gave me: joy!

 

I definitely recommend this challenge to everyone. The official HH28 challenge may be coming to an end, but you can still take part at home. Involve your family, friends, or colleagues, and make it a fun experiment. I promise you, you’ll have such an incredible time, and your mind, body and soul will be infinitely grateful to you!

 

 

6 Responses to “Happy Herbivore 28 Day Whole Foods Challenge: The End of the Beginning”

  1. This is awesome! I loved this challenge too & I enjoy reading about someone else’s journey too. :)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

